Weekend in Chicago

Back in July I took a long weekend trip to Chicago with my oldest friend and bestie, Liz and just now getting around to sharing! I’ve been thinking about the possibility of moving to a bigger city lately  (which has since been pushed back a few years after enrolling in an MBA program here in Des Moines). I always loved Chicago as a kid, but I hadn’t been to the city since high school so I thought I should probably check it out again to make sure  I still love it before seriously considering a move. Good news: I do still love it! Bad news: The weather was terrible. It was unbearably hot or pouring rain the entire time we were there–but that didn’t stop us from getting a pretty decent tour of the city.

First up–we took the train. Neither of wanted to drive and the train sounded novel and fun. And oh man do I love the train. So comfortable, so roomy–AND you can BYOB. Can any one say mimosa to go?!

On Friday night we went on a dinner cruise- which is the best way to see the skyline and actually the only time the weather was bearable. Once the sun went down and we had a breeze it was pretty fantastic.

Saturday, we ventured out in the cement sauna and walked through Millennial park. The gardens there are so beautiful, loved the juxtaposition of nature and city. There was huge fitness class happening in the park that we would have probably joined if it wasn’t 976 degrees.

After a good morning sweat session  stroll we visited the Art Institute of Chicago. Between Chicago and SanFran, I was so spoiled this summer with art. The Art Institute has some fantastic stuff. I didn’t spend a lot of time looking into what was there beforehand, so I was pleasantly surprised at every turn. Hopper’s Nighthawks and Suerat’s A Sunday on La Grand Jatte were a few of my favorites.

After the Art Institute we stopped for sushi then headed to Lincoln Park for the afternoon. I had wanted to explore the neighborhood a bit but it was way too hot for that, so we took to window shopping at West Elm instead. We headed back downtown for much needed showers then it was time for a show! Liz got tickets to Book of Mormon for my birthday and man was it good! I always love musicals and this was no different.

For me, brunch is a MUST on every vacation, big or small. And yes, I picked The Hampton Social solely for the instagramable wall. The menu also boasted crab cakes Benedict, two of my favorite dishes mashed together.  I highly recommend it, they’ve also got a great rose happy hour and the entire space has a fun, fresh nautical nod.

After brunch we stopped for an (air conditioned) mani, then it was back to the train to head west again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

