Reading Lately

Miller’s Valley by Anna Quindlen

This one was a little slow going, but that’s not always a bad thing. In the world of 6am wake up calls, it’s okay to have a book that you can put down come 10pm. It’s a very honest tale of a small town and its inhabitants. The story is a beautiful rendition of the way heartbreak and hardships weave themselves into life. It follows the protagonist from childhood through late life with windows into the most formative years and an interesting perspective on how everything both changes and stays the same over years of life.

Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave

I picked this one up based solely on the cover and its setting in a Sonoma vineyard. Anything to take me back. 🙂 It’s pretty solid chick-lit, with some romance and predictable twists and turns. I had a few other books stacked up waiting for me, so about halfway through I read the last couple pages to make sure it ended how I thought it would and moved on. Good for a quick easy read, but I wouldn’t hunt it down again or anything.

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler

Some books are a way to escape, to take an adventure to a new place and explore new ways of life and characters so different from yourself. Other books, like this one, allign with your own world view and you understand the story and characters deep in your soul, like you already know the plot and all the players in it.

Butler depicts the Midwest like only someone who has lived here can. He captures the effects of the seasons so well. I don’t know if we think about it so often, but there’s almost two separate Midwests. The winter one and the summer one. They’re so different–the weather plays a small, subtle part in the story, but such an important one.

I almost always end up loving books about long, deep rooted friendships because it’s something I can relate to so well. The older I get the more I appreciate the stories told long after childhood has passed and middle age begins to set in. Now, I’m far from middle age- because thats what like 45 now? But its so fascinating to me how friendships change and evolve over time and age.

 

Leave a Reply

