NorCal16: Yosemite

IMG_2254.JPG

About a year ago I had a hankering to see the Redwoods and Palm Springs. And as with all my hankerings, I shared it with two of my childhood besties. Over the course of a year or so we morphed that hankering into a week long girls trip (although girls trip doesn’t really apply to me as my entire life is a girls trip–seeing as I’m sans husband and children #blessed) to Northern California. In the end, it didn’t include Palm Springs OR Redwoods–but it turned out to be absolutely fabulous!

IMG_2320

Our first stop was Yosemite. We stayed in Oakhurst at a great airbnb. It was huge, probably more space than we needed. The outside area was on point, with a fire ring, hot tub and grill. There was a stream than ran behind the cabin just down the hill. I did a few pretty solid vinyasa flows back there one morning. It was downright idyllic.

IMG_2301

Most of my family’s vacations growing up were to National Parks. We did the Rocky Mountains, the Smokey Mountains, Yellowstone. The Works. I spend alot of my time sleeping in the car or whining in scenic pull offs with complaints of motion sickness and general teenage bratiness. I thought that I would have a new found appreciation for nature and enjoy it so much more than when I was younger. But turns out I still get really terrible altitude and motion sickness driving through the mountains. I often feel like a whiny little bitch when experiencing this–but for those that don’t know what it’s like– it’s like when the the gang gets back from the bar on Jersey Shore and they have to sleep with one foot on the ground to keep the spins at bay. Except without a lick of alcohol in your system. It’s rough. So this might be my last jaunt into high altitude.

But I will say it is breathtaking. Around every bend there is a a new scenic view of this water fall or that gorge. I mean its really incredible. Especially when you spend the majority of your life in the rolling plains of the Midwest.

IMG_2262.JPG

We ventured into Yosemite Valley–which was BUSY, even on a Monday–but really nice. Once we hunted down a parking spot there were loads of picnic areas and plenty of paved trails back to some falls. Handicap accessible hiking is really my preferred kind of hiking.

IMG_2558

Whenever I’m in National Parks I always find myself thinking about what it would be like to come upon this as a pioneer or new settler. Like hot damn, how are we getting over this mountain?! Honestly I would have turned back once we hit the Mississippi. I wouldn’t have made it anywhere near California. Actually I probably would have died of typhoid, or starvation or just general prissiness. I really don’t think I’m cut out for exploration.

 

 

Leave a Reply

